Claude Deschamps Memorial

Softball Canada Awards

Members of Softball NL that have been named recipients of the Claude Deschamps Memorial Award.

Claude Deschamps Memorial Award
1993 Greg Webber (St. John’s)
2006 Ryan Boland (Goulds)
2017 Jordan Pomeroy (Placentia)


The CLAUDE DESCHAMPS MEMORIAL AWARD was established in 1984 in honour of a former Executive Director of Softball Canada, Mr. Claude Deschamps.

This bursary is nationally administered by Softball Canada and is awarded annually to a female and male recipient towards their education. The recipients for this Award receive $1000.00 each and are chosen from the region* hosting the annual Softball Canada Congress (formerly known as the Annual General Meeting).

To qualify for this Award, the applicant must be:

  • Registered with the provincial/territorial association
  • In a minor category, for a minimum of two (2) years prior to the application
  • Be a resident of the province/territory
  • Be in attendance at a recognized educational institution at a post-secondary level.

Softball Canada by September 15 of each year must receive a letter of application, a completed application form, along with a letter of endorsement from the provincial/territorial office.

Note: Reference letter(s) may be included whenever possible.


Western: Saskatchewan, Alberta, Yukon Territory and British Columbia
Atlantic: New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland & Labrador, and PEI
Central: Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba, and Northwest Territories, Nunavut Territory

Claude Deschamps Memorial Award Application Form