Coach of the Year

Softball Canada Awards

Members of Softball NL that have been named recipients of the Coach of the Year Award.

Coach of the Year Award
1991 Fred Jackson (St. John’s)
2006 Jim Dunphy (Holyrood)
2014 John Hill (St. John’s)


1. The coach shall be a Canadian citizen / landed immigrant.
2. The coach shall be fully certified (at any softball NCCP level) to qualify.
3. The coach shall be nominated by a player, softball club or league executive, district softball organization, community service group, municipal council or local school board. (No personal nominations will be accepted.)

Nominations must include:

•Coach’s name, address, and phone number(s)
•Name, address, and phone number(s) of nominating individual or group
•Record of nominee’s coaching experience
•Coach’s record of softball NCCP activity
•Record of coaching achievements / player progress
•Coach’s role in developing and improving sport, coaching and athletes in their community
•Personal highlights
•Letter of support from respective Provincial/Territorial Softball Association
•It is strongly recommended to include letters of support from athletes that have been coached by the nominee or letters from other sources to give the selection committee a good understanding of the nominee`s coaching ability
•Picture of nominee. Can be a head and shoulders shot or a photo of nominee actively coaching

Coach of the Year Nomination Form