Softball NL History



The founding meeting of Softball Newfoundland Labrador was held on the evening of Saturday, July 26th, 1963 at the PC Club Rooms 112 Military Road in St. John’s.

The first meeting attracted delegates from seven centers who were participating in an Invitational Softball Tournament that weekend in St. John’s.

The delegates elected were Denis (Dee) Murphy-President, Reg Caughie-Vice President and Vince Withers-Secretary/Registrar.

As a result of the meeting, the Invitational Softball Tournament became the first Provincial Softball Championship!

The tournament was played from July 25 to 27 at Bannerman Park and at the Pleasantville Ball Field. The following 10-teams participated in the first Provincial Softball Championship: Argentia Seals, Bell Island, Civil Service Softball League, Conception Bay South, Conception Bay North, Fox Harbour, Gander, Kilbride, Placentia & St. John’s Capitals.

The first Championship Game was played at the Pleasantville Ball Field and thanks to a sixth inning two-run home run by catcher Ed McCoy, the Argentia Seals edged the St. John’s Capitals 3-2 to claim the first Provincial Championship and the Richard Cashin Trophy.

The first three Provincial Championships were won by the Argentia Seals an American based team stationed at Argentia Naval Base in Placentia.

The first Canadian Softball Championships were held in Calgary, AB from August 12 to 15, 1965 with the American based team Argentia Seals representing the Province.

In 1966, the Labrador City Carol Lakers became the first local team to capture the Provincial Championship and in 1967, the Labrador City Carol Lakers became the first Newfoundland Labrador team to participate in the Canadian Softball Championships from August 24 to 27, 1967 in Saskatoon, SK.

Since that humble beginning in 1963, the Provincial Championships have been held for fastpitch and slo-pitch in 35-divisions from Minor to Adult for Male and Female. The Championships have been held across the Island, as well as in Labrador.