MNT Roster Announced

2015 MNT Roster For WBSC Men’s World Championship

(Ottawa, ON) Softball Canada is pleased to announce the list of seventeen (17) athletes who will represent Canada as members of the Men’s National Team at the WBSC Men’s World Softball Championship from June 26 to July 5, 2015 in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. The final roster was determined at the Men’s National Team selection camp held this past weekend in Kitchener, Ontario.

“We are very happy to announce our roster for the upcoming WBSC Men’s World Softball Championship” stated John Stuart, Head Coach of the Canadian Men’s National Softball Team. “Our athletes are mentally and physically prepared to compete at the top international level and they showed just that at our selection camp this past weekend. We all look forward to the opportunity to represent our country on home soil in Saskatoon.”

The coaching staff is scheduled to announce the fifteen (15) athletes named to the 2015 Pan American Games Men’s Softball team through the Canadian Olympic Committee on June 11. That event will take place the week after the conclusion of WBSC Men’s World Softball Championship – from July 12-18 – with the top six (6) teams from the Pan American region competing.

At the previous WBSC Men’s World Championship held in 2013 in Auckland, New Zealand, Team Canada locked up first place in its pool but lost its first two playoff games to finish fifth. The team last competed at the 2014 Pan American Softball Championship from October 24 to November 1 in Parana, Argentina, winning a bronze medal.

The athletes who have been selected to represent Team Canada at the 2015 WBSC Men’s World Softball Championship are:


#42 Bryan Abrey (Richmond, BC)
#51 Ryan Boland (Goulds, NL)
#44 Sean Cleary (Harbour Main, NL)
#19 Jeff Ellsworth (St. Lawrence, PEI)
#22 Brad Ezekiel (Harbour Main, NL)
#14 Ian Fehrman (Townsend, ON)
#10 Jason Hill (St. John’s, NL)
#17 Brandon Horn (Waterloo, ON)
#30 Paul Koert (Stouffvile, ON)
#29 Derek Mayson (North Vancouver, BC)
#24 Devon McCullough (Saskatoon, SK)
#33 Stephen Mullaley (Freshwater, NL)
#15 Mathieu Roy (St. Gervais, QC)
#8 Jason Sanford (Durham, NS)
#6 Kevin Schellenberg (Squamish, BC)
#9 Andy Skelton (Scarborough, ON)
#77 Ryan Wolfe (Melbourne, ON)

Coaching Staff

Head Coach
John Stuart (Langley, BC)

Assistant Coach
Glenn Boles (St. Catharines, ON)

Assistant Coach
John Hill (St. John’s, NL)

Assistant Coach
Les Howey (Conception Bay, NL)

Athletic Therapist
Adam Davies (Ottawa, ON)

Team Leader
Larry Gould (Burtts Corner, NB)

Manager – National Teams
Mike Branchaud (Ottawa, ON)


George Findley (Ottawa, ON)
Serge Laflamme (Lévis, QC)
Terry Richter (Sherwood Park, AB)

WBSC Softball Director of Umpires Bob Stanton (Fredericton, NB) will serve as the Umpire-in-Chief, while Jeff Whipple (Fredericton, NB) – Softball Canada’s current National Director of Umpires – will be one of the two Assistant Umpires-in-Chief of the tournament.


For more information, please contact:

Gilles LeBlanc
Manager, Marketing and Communications
Softball Canada
613-523-3386 ext. 3105