Select Page

Softballers Sport NL 2019 Award Winners

Softballers Sport NL 2019 Award Winners

Softball NL Would Like To Take This Opportunity To Congratulate Gary Corbett On Being Named The Sport NL 2019 Executive Of The Year And The Recipient Of The Graham Snow Memorial Award And Congratulate Galway Hitmen On Being Named The Sport NL 2019 Team Of The Year And The Recipient Of The Edward P. Browne Memorial Award.

2019 Executive of the Year
(Graham Snow Memorial Award)

Gary Corbett (Holyrood) has been involved in the sport of Softball for more than 30 years, at both the minor and adult levels; from minor teams at the Local, Provincial, Eastern Canadian, National and Canada Games level, as well as the Local, Provincial, and National levels for adult teams. Gary has served on the Softball NL Board of Directors from 1988 to 2001, and during the 2017 Softball NL AGM & Election of Officer he decided to run for President. He proved successful in this endeavor, as he was elected for a 2-year term in 2017-2019 and was recently re-elected to serve an additional 2-year term from 2019 until 2021. Gary has held the position of Vice-President on the Softball NL Board of Directors from 1996-2001; and he has been affiliated with numerous committees since 1988, including the 1994 Women’s Worlds, 1995 Senior Men’s Nationals (chair), chaired a Senior/Intermediate League Committee to Review Constitution & By-laws, apart from many other impressive positions. Gary is committed to strengthening coaching development, official’s development, committee development, human resources development and community organizational development. Gary is known for his meticulous attention to detail and his ability to get tasks and goals accomplished, while maintaining an inclusive and welcoming environment. In addition to all of these contributions, Gary was a member of the coaching staff for the Galway Women’s Fastpitch Team in 2019, the Host Team for the 2019 Women’s Canadian Fastpitch Championships.

Congratulations Gary!


2019 Team of the Year Award
(Edward P. Browne Memorial Award)

Galway Hitmen defended the 2019 Men’s Canadian Fastpitch Championship with a 10-7 win over their opponents the BC1 Sooke Loggers in Grande Prairie, AB. The Galway Hitmen entered the tournament as the defending champions and finished the tournament with their national crown intact, capturing an overall tournament record of 10 wins and 1 loss, and outscored the opposition with a final score of 96-36 (+30). With team success comes individual success and the Galway Hitmen earned 2 All-Star Team Selections; Brad Ezekiel (Outfield) and Colin Walsh (Utility), noting that Walsh was also named Top Player of the Championship Round. This is the 7th Men’s Canadian Fastpitch Championship for the Province in the last eight years.

Congratulations Galway Hitmen!


Softball NL Would Also Like To Take This Opportunity To Congratulate Joshua Kennedy On Being Named 1-of-3 Finalists For The Sport NL 2019 Junior Male Athlete Of The Year Award. Campbell Clarke (Rugby) And Dawson Mercer (Hockey) Were The Other Finalists, With Campbell Clarke (Rugby) Being Named The Recipient Of The Joseph P. Mullins Memorial Award.

Joshua Kennedy (Carbonear) enjoyed a successful softball season at the Local, Provincial, Eastern Canadian and National levels in 2019. At the Local level, Joshua captured a silver medal in the U16 Boy’s Division of the Constable William Moss Memorial Tournament and he participated in the Intermediate Men’s Fastpitch League and Senior Men’s Fastpitch League. Provincially, Joshua participated in four Fastpitch tournaments, the U16 Boys, U19 Men’s, Intermediate Men’s and Senior Men’s, earning a Gold Medal in U16 Boy’s, a Silver Medal in U19 Men’s and finished with an impressive .455 Batting Average (5-for-11) in Intermediate Men’s. At the Eastern Canadian level, Joshua aided in capturing a Bronze Medal at the U16 Boy’s Eastern Canadian Softball Championship and was named to the Tournament All-Star Team as an Infielder (Top 10 Performer). Joshua represented Newfoundland and Labrador at the National level at the U16 Boy’s Canadian Fastpitch Championship, where he was named to the Tournament All-Star Team – Infielder. Joshua’s commitment, sportsmanship and skilled sporting abilities earned him the title of 2019 Softball NL Minor Male Player of the Year.

Congratulations Joshua!

Our Sponsors/Friends



Softball NL Newsletter

Please Subscribe to Covering the Bases

* indicates required
Please choose all that apply